First working iPhone in South Africa!

dsc00879.jpgdsc00881.jpg
Yup you guessed it – unless im wrong, this is the first working iPhone in SA! Im actually on Vodacom but having some minor issues – MTN works 100% though!

Oh and for anyone wanting to know – iPhone is undoubtedly the best mobile phone out there.

UPDATE: After using the iPhone fora few months now  i am really enjoying it. Im still on the original firmware (1.0.2) but im going to upgrade. I have noticed a few issues which have come about, namely some dead blocks on the touch screen (which weren’t there before) and a sim failure error which i never got before. Im hoping a firmware upgrade will fix if i can get  it to work. The things we do for Apple!!!

51 thoughts on “First working iPhone in South Africa!

  1. yup – used the free GUI one from Harro. Also bought the one from the iphonesimfree guys, but it came to me too late.

    Crack works a treat and isnt that hard to administer. Not too sure about future frimware updates from apple though – guess well have to see!

  2. Tom Grindley - Ferris says:

    hi mike… got mine on the 12th 🙂 also having problmes with vodacom … seems it wont receive calls? works prefectly on MTN and cell c though…. you had any luck… vodacom is USELESS at trying to help you out to get the thing working.. would appreciate any feedback ?

  3. Lebo says:

    HI EVERY ONE I FINALLY GOT MY IPHONE. I CAN DO EVERYTHING I COULD DO ON MY PREVIOUS PHONE , I’M NOT SURE ABOUT THE INTERNET STUFF YET, MY SERVICE PROVIDER I.E. ORANGE DOESN’T HAVE INTERNET ACCESS, BUT I AN SWITCHING TO MASCOM (Botswana) AND WE WILL SEE HOW IT GOES.
    IT SO COOL SMALLER THEN I THOUGH BUT HEAVIER TOO. I’M ALMOST SCARED TO TOUGH IT AT TIME I’VE BEEN WAITING FOR SO LONG, IT JUST LOOKS AND FEEL SO GREAT.
    I GOT IT FROM THE STATES UNLOCKED NOT HACKED FOR $600 , IT USES GSM. THE ONLY THING IS APPARENTLY IF YOU GET A MASSAGE FROM APPLE ASKING IF U WANT SOFTWARE UPDATE THEN YOU JUST SAY NO AND THE PHONE WILL NOT BE DISABLED.
    YOU CAN EVEN ORDER THEM ON LINE BUT I DON’T KNOW IF THOSE SIGHTS ARE LEGIT SO I SENT SOMEONE TO GO BUT IT FOR ME IN THE STATES.
    I’LL KEEP U POSTED ON MY PROGRESS WITH MY NEW IPHONE

  4. Ryan says:

    Hi all.
    I need help. Just bought one in Singapore. Stuck my sim in it there and it worked. Not sure if it will work once I have brought it back.
    How do you go about cracking it if it doesnt.

  5. When will there be an official release with either Vodacom/MTN (if at all???)
    I read about Steve Job saying that the next firmware update (with a number of needed fixes) would render cracked version “unfortunately” unusable. So a crack is a dodgy solution, to say the least.

  6. Duncan says:

    Here is a question: Does your SA unlock have Edge network from any of the providers? I’m living in London and have had my iPhone on o2 since release – and agree its awesome. But the best thing about is having network push email – maps – unlimited Internet and so on.

    I know there was 3g coverage in central areas – which doesnt help the phone…

  7. Thomas – no word on an SA release also, all the firmware updates block the cracks. its just a matter of waiting for the guys to crack it.

    Duncan – yup MTN has edge and on Vodacom it works on GPRS

  8. craigfraser says:

    hey man, how do i use the iphone with safari when im not connected to my wireless router?is it gprs or edge?im on vodacom, i Have set my APN to internet, but can still not get Safari to work when my Wifi is set to off?
    can anyone help?

  9. Frosty says:

    Hi guys. I got my iphone in Malawi in October 07. Came back to SA in dec and works perfectly on Vodacom including edge. Would not trade this phone for any other.

  10. Marius says:

    Graig, I am also with Vodacom. I have set the APN under EDGE to internet. It works, although very slow. Would love to get Opera mobile working!

  11. I am a “new” iPhone user in South Africa. Got it in the US and purchased a i3gsim and it worked great in the US. Upon arrival in SA all seemed to be working well. Now I can not use the phone features. When I go to the SMS option of Phone option it pops up for a second and then jumps back to the home page. Any ideas here. Running the i3gsim with Vodacom on a 1.1.2 with new bootloader. Tahnks

  12. i am in the states and i am thinking of getting a iphone to take with me to Mozambique but i am afraid i will get home and not work. so please any help you can give i would appreciate. thanks have good day

  13. Gavin says:

    i wanna buy a iphone, im staying in the uk but going back to South Africa end of october, so will my iphone work in SA and which network will it be better on? thanks

  14. Wouter Hugo du toit says:

    Hi i wonder if somebody can advise me where to purchase a IPHONE IN WHICH country to buy aswell as model plus how much to pay.Thank you Wouter Hugo Du Toit

  15. Brendan says:

    MIKE

    I bought my iphone in Italy. Updated and crack by ziphone. But every time i need to make a call, it seems the “edge” cnnection has to be dropped or the call fails. Any advice?

  16. lizzieb says:

    hi ]
    I’m looking into buying a iphone in london as a gift for my brother in sa, will he be able to use mxit on iT????

  17. Chris says:

    Im slightly confused…
    I’ve read up on the iPhone, and the hacks for the iPhone and I’m slightly lost…
    Firstly, if I buy an iPhone in the US and bring it back to SA, where is the hack I’ll need to unlock the phone.
    Secondly, if I use the hack, will I be able to use the iPhone as a phone, not just an iPod?
    Bearing in mind I use the Vodacom network, will I be able to surf the net, make calls, use the iPod features and the rest of it, after having used the hack??
    Please assist in this regard…
    Chris

  18. Reegz says:

    Hey iphone users

    I am a vodacom user, how do i activate edge
    I recently bought my iphone 4rm malaysia
    I cn make calls and send smses, bt connecting 2 the net is impossible… Any advice pls??
    Do u think its worth a shot taking it 2 one of the ipod shops??
    Does vodacom support edge??
    Cn we switch networks without having change our numberz??
    Thanx

  19. Sihle says:

    Hi I’m currently thinking of buying an i phone from London as a friend of mine is there at the moment. What I would like to know is will the phone work perfectly here in South Africa cause I’m on the vodacom network.

  20. Hi to all on this BLOG!!

    I am currently living and working in the USA. I bought a 16GIG iPhone her in the US and was told (by current US wireless provider At&T) that I could NOT use or unlock it in South Africa? Unfortunately I can not get hold of MTN to confirm this as I am in a different time zone.

    I am returning to SA in 3 weeks time and will be using my existing MTN contract when I am there. I HOPE that I will be able to use my iPhone on the MTN number!!!! 😦

    It seems that allot of you are using iPhone in SA! (example.. Tom G Ferris , I used to work with you at EOH, if this IS you?)

    Anybody got an answer for me?

    Philip

  21. Danny Lee says:

    Hi I have just got my Iphone from China. Im on Virgin Mobile. Will it work in South Africa? and is there no way in which you can make the iphone support mxit on it? and one more thing I’m going to singapore in July and how can i make it work in Singapore with my Virgin Mobile sim card?
    Thankx

  22. Jenny says:

    I bought my iphone in Asia, I’m currently with vodacom. Battling to connect to the net…… Can some one please help.

  23. Hi All

    Iphone currently works on all SA Networks. Use Ziphone (google it) to crack.

    For internet surfing use “internet” as you APN. Should do the trick

  24. Thato says:

    My collegue got his Iphone from Canada and had it running on AT&T when he was there in Dec’07 it working perfectly. He’s using vodacom and currently has firmware vers. 2.0.2 which has not given any hassle. I’m eagerly awaiting MTN’s release and from my experience beleive IPhone has finally initiated a mobile relovolution…

  25. My iphone is now behaving badly on mtn. Rumour is that it uses too much bandwidth at the repeater stations so mtn have new software protocols which throw us off’

  26. joni foster says:

    i have an iphone – can one download the latest iphone software with itunes, or will it render the phone useless in south africa. i live in cape town and require someone to repair my iphone. i believe that i require the screen to be calibrated? any advice would be appreciated. joni

  27. wiz says:

    mtn or vodacom. which is the best provider in sa? as well, do you think they do short month-long contracts? i’m travelling from canada and hope to have an iphone. i don’t want to pay canadian roaming fees and am wondering ….

  28. welma moolman says:

    My daughter wants a iphone, too expensive in sa. can get the 8gb for $400. A big saving from R6500 in sa. Is it wise to buy there and use in sa on vodacom. Mixit facebook and sms a lot. I need advice please, not an IT guru..and to clever on this.

  29. $400? You can get it at walmart in the US for $190- the 8gb or $290 for 16GB. Best buy might be a little cheaper actually.

    So we use AT&T and I guess we’ll bring our palm treos and blackberries with us if we can’t use our iphones there just as a backup. But I know you can just do roaming but that can be pricey.

    How do you people live without GPS, facebook, internet and email on your iphones? That defeats the purpose. I’d go nuts. How would I get anywhere without googlemaps and telenav(gps)?

    Welna, if your daughter is not in college yet – then she doesnt need an iphone yet.

  30. A_HELPFUL_STRANGER says:

    Hi there. IF u bought iPhone in Singapore and you have a problem activating using iTunes, I recommend a “jailbreak”. Google a program called Quikpwn to help you do this

  31. hey mike, do you think you could shoot me an email. i got an iphone from usa and want to try and get it to work in south africa. i have a vodacom sim but it says restricted network when i put it in and doesn’t work. any thoughts? thanks man

  32. Andrea says:

    I just have a question and hope someone can answer I am living in the UK and I want to send my friend an iPhone does anybody know how much the cost is and how I go about doing it and will it work in SA as it’s much cheaper buying it in the Uk for her than in SA thanx x

  33. Most Ballin-ist Player says:

    Alright Janet iphone is only that cheap at bestbuy and walmart because you have to buy it on the contract you can’t buy the phone without it and they want you on the contract for 2 yrs but it’ll be a little bit more expensive on ebay but i guess it’s worth…so im gon be going back to Malawi this summer and I want to use my iphone there is it gonna work i’ll be at school in South Africa though so as I understand from the above posts iphone will work on the Vodca network so what im i gonna need to do to my iPhone to make it work in Malawi or at least South Africa, I haven’t been there since for most of my life so i don’t know what networks are available anybody write me back @ my email address:

    debaundry64@yahoo.com

    -Kenyon

  34. BANELE BHENGU says:

    HI EVERYONE I HAVE A PROBLEM HERE I RESENTLY BOUGHT AN I PHONE IN LONDON BUT I STAY IN SOUTH AFRICA NOW AM BACK IN SOUTH AFRICA AND IT DOESNT WANA EXCEPT ANY OF THE NETWORKS BUT KEEPS ON TELLING ME SIM FAILURE. NEED HELP URGENTLY PLEASE HELP ME OUT WHT MUST I DO BECAUSE I DONT I WILL GO TO LONDON ANYTIME SOON.

Leave a Reply

